Champagne, which is the only area authorised to produce the basic wines of Champagne, is located about 150 kilometres north-east of Paris and consists of 319 communes in five departments: Marne, Aube, Aisne, Haute-Marne and Seine-et-Marne, the latter two consisting only of very small vineyards.

The area is divided into 20 natural regions, each with fairly homogeneous terroirs. These are grouped into six major regions: Montagne de Reims, Vallée de la Marne, Côte des Blancs, Petit Morin et Grand Morin, Côte de Champagne and Côte de Bar.

shopping cart


back to top